Conferment of SAN title holds Monday — Nigeria Today
Pages Navigation Menu

Latest and breaking news, sports and all that is trending today

Conferment of SAN title holds Monday


The conferment of the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) on 29 selected lawyers will hold on Monday (September 18) as scheduled.

The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee (LPPC), earlier this year, announced the names of 30 successful candidates for the rank.

But, the LPPC, in a statement on Friday, said it has deferred the conferment of the title on the only female on the list, Oluwatoyin Ajoke Bashorun.

The statement signed by the committee’s Secretary, Hadizatu Uwani Mustapha said the decision to defer the conferment of the rank on Mrs. Bashorun was taken at a meeting of the LPPC held on Friday.

Part of the statement reads: “Recall that the LPPC announced the nomination for appointment of 30 successful applicants for the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria.

“This was after a thorough investigation of petitions against some of the applicants which is governed by Paragraph 12(2) of the LPPC Guidelines, 2016.

“However, after the announcement, more facts have emerged, touching on the eligibility of the otherwise successful applicants.

“Consequent upon that, the LPPC, in an emergency meeting held today, 15th day of September 2017, has decided to defer the conferment of the rank of SAN on Oluwatoyin Ajoke Bashorun, pending further investigation of her case by a special constituted committee set up by my lord, the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Walter Onnoghen, chairman of LPPC.”

The 29 lawyers include Festus Keyamo, Olusola Alexander Oke, Akinlolu Osinbajo, Prof. Adebambo Adewepo, Prof. Adedeji Adekunle

Also named are Chibuike Nwokeukwu, Johnnie Egwuonwu, Bert Igwilo, Sylvester Enema, Ikenna Egbuna and Wilcox Aberton.

Equally named are Michael Alliyu, Francis Egele, Nasser Dangiri, Emeka Okpoko, Sani Garun-Gabbas, Abdul Ibrahim, John Odubela, Gboyega Oyewole, Joshua Musa, Ibrahim Mohammed and Ekemejero Ohwovorile

Others are Oyetola Oshobi, Sulaiman Usman, Kehinde Ogunwumiju, Chiesonu Okpoko, Kamaldeen Ajibade,  Enefiok Essien and Sadiq Shikyl.

The post Conferment of SAN title holds Monday appeared first on The Nation Nigeria.

Follow us on twitter @NigeriaTodayNG

Also, Like us on facebook

This post was syndicated from The Nation Nigeria. Click here to read the full text on the original website.


Notify of
Download the Nigeria Today app from Play store. Click here download now
Hello. Add your message here.