Tebandeke, Acayo win Wheelchair road races — Nigeria Today
Pages Navigation Menu

Latest and breaking news, sports and all that is trending today

Tebandeke, Acayo win Wheelchair road races

After a rain-delayed start to the MTN and UAF Wheelchair and Tricycle 10kms road races, the climax provided for some exciting scenes. The road races took place on Sunday, starting at the Shell Lugogo and ending at the MTN Lugogo Arena.

In the hotly contested 10kms Wheelchair road race, Joseph Tebandeke with less than a kilometer to go was able to overtake Ocira Richard to cross the finish line in 28:47:6 minutes.

His win also required some bit of luck as Ocira while making the final two bends before the finish line, lost control of the wheelchair and fell. That is how Tebandeke was able to capitalize and bring it home.

“We had been neck and neck for the entire race until he tried to maneuver a corner and I overtook him. I am happy to have finally won this year’s road race. Last year I was third. So, this is an improvement,” Tebandeke said after the race.

For Ocira, there was the disappointment despite him being able to get up and finish second despite nearly being overtaken by Kevin Mubiru. Ocira in part blamed the morning downpour that resulted in slippery roads, making it hard for him to maneuver some bends.

In the women category for the Wheelchair road race, Acayo Polline won it in 54:05:7 minutes ahead of Biira Rebecca and former champion Kyalimba Vasta. In the tricycle category for men, Muhammed Ngobi pipped it, whereas Mariam Kasibina won the women category.

“I am so excited about winning this race. I did not expect and I thank God who was able to see through this entire tough route,” an excited Kasibina said. It was an opportunity for marathon participants in the wheelchair category to come out and participate. Supporting the athletics for the disabled reveals how much MTN looks to inclusive sport across the board.

The top 3 in each of the two races will win prize money, in total valued Ugx.11.2m. Women and men who finished first in both races will win Ugx.1.5m each.

The top three will be awarded their prize money next Sunday, 19 th November 2017 at the MTN Kampala Marathon.

The post Tebandeke, Acayo win Wheelchair road races appeared first on Bigeye.ug.

Do you have something awesome to share with the world? Click here to share

Do you ever have any question about anything you wish to ask and get answer? Click here to ask

Follow us on twitter @NigeriaTodayNG

Also, Like us on facebook

This post was syndicated from Bigeye.ug. Click here to read the full text on the original website.


Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
Download the Nigeria Today app from Play store. Click here download now
Hello. Add your message here.