AMAA 2018: Organisers Call for Entries — Nigeria Today
Pages Navigation Menu

Latest and breaking news, sports and all that is trending today

AMAA 2018: Organisers Call for Entries

The 14th Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA), the Premier Africa’s film awards countdown has begun and the Africa Film Academy cordially inviting filmmakers to submit their feature, short, animation and documentary works for consideration in nearly 30 categories of the awards. The deadline for all submissions is 30th of this month; a late entry deadline is February 14. Submission is on Film Freeway and in any of the AMAA offices across the continent. 

Nominations will be announced in April while the awards night  will be held on June 2, 2018 and televised globally. Only films produced and released between June 2016 and January 2018 may be entered for this celebration of African cinema. 

The Africa Movie Academy Awards was founded in 2005. Mostly held annually in Nigeria, the AMAAs is without doubt the most prestigious and glamorous African entertainment industry event of its kind on the continent. Evolving from a one day event — televised live — to an annually chronicled African event, the AMA Awards is now an established engagement platform for filmmakers, industry professionals and all creative industry stakeholders. The primary aim of the AMA Awards is to facilitate the development and the showcasing of the social relevance of African film and cinema. The awards are presented to recognise and honour excellence in professional filmmaking in the African film industry and the African Diaspora. 

Over the years, the award presentation has been attended by numerous international media representatives, Hollywood celebrities, Nigerian politicians, other African politicians, journalists, film industry professionals, and actors and actresses from across Africa. 

The 2017 African Movie Academy Awards took place on July 15th, 2017 at the Eko Hotels Convention Center in Lagos State, Nigeria. The exciting and glitzy event was hosted by notable Nollywood actress Nse Ikpe Etim. Awards were presented in about 30 categories including best animation, best Diaspora feature, Best Africa Film in the Diaspora and Best Diaspora Short Film Awards inclusive of Caribbean Shorts and Caribbean features, achievement in make-up, achievement in production design, and achievement in editing, achievement in screenplay, best actor and actress in a supporting role, and more. 

The award for best African actor of the year went to Jahwar Soudani for his lead role in the Tunisian movie “Last of Us’’ while the Congolese born actress Vero Tshanda won the best actress for her lead role in the Senegalese movie Félicité by Allan Gomis. “Felicite” emerged the biggest winner of the night and won the AMAA 2017 Best Film and lots more. Other winners include Akin Omotoso, who won the best director award, Nkem Owoh who received the Lifetime Achievement Award and “76” which won the Lagos State Best Nigerian film award. The Best Diaspora Short was a joint award and the award was presented to the short films titled ’90 DAYS’ (USA) and ‘KBELA’ (BRAZIL). Disney’s ‘Queen of Katwe’ won the award for Achievement in Costume Design and the Best Young/ Promising Actor award, which went to Medina Molanga.

Do you have something awesome to share with the world? Click here to share

Do you ever have any question about anything you wish to ask and get answer? Click here to ask

Follow us on twitter @NigeriaTodayNG

Also, Like us on facebook

This post was syndicated from THISDAYLIVE. Click here to read the full text on the original website.


Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
Download the Nigeria Today app from Play store. Click here download now
Hello. Add your message here.