Jega Heads C’ttee to Revive Education in Three Northern States | Nigeria Today
Pages Navigation Menu

Nigeria news, headlines, events , stories and all that is trending today

Jega Heads C’ttee to Revive Education in Three Northern States

Former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Attahiru Jega, has been appointed to head an advisory committee that will revive the education sector in Sokoto, Kebbi and Zamfara States.

Jega, who hails from Kebbi State, would work with six other professors from the zone and would advise the governors of the three states on how to fix the myriad of problems facing the sector, especially at the tertiary education level.

Presenting a report of the committee at the weekend in Sokoto to Governors Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, Abdulaziz Yari and Abubakar Bagudu of Sokoto, Zamfara and Kebbi States respectively, Jega said time had come for all stakeholders in the three states to close rank and collectively face the challenges together.
He said there was the need to reposition institutions of higher learning in the three states that made up the old Sokoto State to enable them operate according to their core mandates.

Jega, among other recommendations, stressed the need for improved funding of the institutions, reinvigorated training and promotion of exchange programmes among institutions in the three states.

The committee also advised the three states to establish a joint Education Tax Fund in the mould of the federal government-funded TETFUND and revive the former remedial school to be established in one of the states to prepare students for higher studies.
Receiving the report on behalf of his colleagues, Governor Yari of Zamfara state said even though Sokoto had already declared a state of emergency on education, both Zamfara and Kebbi States would follow suit.

He said the three governors would liaise with their various state Houses of Assembly and state Attorneys-General to review the laws that established the institutions.
“We will pass the recommendations to the Attorneys-General to look into them, with a view to review these laws. We will also strive to formulate all the requisite policies to make these higher educational institutions function effectively.
“We will also allocate nothing less than 35 per cent of our annual budgets to the education sector,” he added.
The five other members of the committee are former Vice Chancellors of Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto, Prof. Riskuwa Shehu and Prof. Tijjani Bande. The rest are Professors Zayyanu Umar, Lawal Bilbis and Umar Chafe.

Do you have something awesome to share with the world? Click here to share

Do you ever have any question about anything you wish to ask and get answer? Click here to ask

Follow us on twitter @NigeriaTodayNG

Also, Like us on facebook

This post was syndicated from THISDAYLIVE. Click here to read the full text on the original website.


Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
Download the Nigeria Today app from Play store. Click here download now
Hello. Add your message here.